Sectors - Commercial

SELECT Helps Blaze Trail with Fire Sector

The Electrical Contractors’ Association of Scotland (SELECT) has helped to shape a new Occupations Qualification Structure by the Fire, Emergency and Security Systems (FESS) industry, which will lead to Electrotechnical Certification Scheme (ECS) Card recognition.

Aimed at promoting high standards and skills, this new structure has been developed by an industry-wide working group formed by SELECT and other leading trade associations and employer representatives, including:

  • British Security Industry Association (BSIA)
  • FESS Employer Group
  • Fire Industry Association (FIA)
  • Fire & Security Association (FSA)
  • Security Systems and Alarm Inspection Board (SSAIB)
  • Joint Industry Board (JIB)

Uniquely recognising the introduction of the FESS Trailblazer, the new structure sets the standard for new entrants to the market at Level 3 while also addressing the need to recognise the training, experience and qualifications of the current workforce.

This new pathway recognises the differences in training, experience and qualifications for those already in the industry, which critically identifies a minimum standard for those who install and maintain fire, emergency and security systems.

Fiona Harper, Director of Employment and Skills at SELECT, said: “This new development is a significant step forward as it recognises existing professionalism and also blends upskilling and training with formal and structured assessment.

“SELECT particularly welcomes its introduction as it dovetails perfectly with our own ongoing contribution towards modernisation of the ECS in Scotland. Ensuring the FESS workforce of tomorrow has the correct qualifications with meaningful assessments also reinforces the importance of our campaign for protection of title, to ensure only properly qualified individuals build an electric future for us all.”

There are now four sector disciplines recognised by the Electrotechnical Certification Scheme (ECS) in the Fire, Emergency and Security Systems (FESS) industry which include:

  • Fire
  • Fire and emergency lighting
  • Security (Including access control, intruder and CCTV systems)
  • Fire and security.

Each sector recognises three disciplines which will include Systems Operative, Systems Technician and Technical Manager, in addition to this, the occupations of Labourer, Trainee and Apprentice are also recognised by ECS.

Jay Parmar, Chief Executive of the JIB, said: “I’m delighted to have worked alongside the Fire, Emergency and Security Systems industry who collectively represent over 3,000 companies with over 80,000 employees who will benefit from the introduction of the new Occupational Qualification Structure and the new suite of ECS cards which recognise the skills of the entire FESS workforce.

“A key strength of ECS and its partnership with CSCS is that it provides assurance that cardholders working across sites in the UK have a high level of skills and experience.”

Information about the full suite of cards, together with information on the pathway-specific FESS assessments and details on how to apply for the ECS FESS cards will be available on the SJIB website in due course. Alternatively, call 0131 445 9216.

If you would like to read more like this, then please click here

Click here to subscribe to our weekly newsletter >>